Study on the management of the Haitian Urban Space

Date

2019-2020

Localisation

Haiti

Sector

Gobernance

Partners

Comité Interministériel d'Aménagement du Territoire (Haiti), EDF

Unite Caribbean, in partnership with Esa Consultance, carried out an operational study on urban space management in Haiti in six of the country’s major cities (Port-au-Prince, Cap haïtien, Carrefour, Les Cayes, Camp Perrin, Millot).

This study has three objectives:

  • 1. To document the practices and actors of city management with regard to the different levels of elected officials and central government institutions, as well as the expectations of certain private actors with regard to the basic elements of city management;
  • 2. To identify specific elements of legislation and regulations applicable to the different sizes of cities;
  • 3. Structure the debate around the practices and new standards to be put in place, both at the time of the diagnosis and at the time of the formulation of the proposals.

The work carried out is based on three main areas:

  • 1. To understand all the factors and operational elements in urban management, after the actors concerned in the field, in order to have a complete diagnosis of the current situation in terms of the management of Haitian urban space
  • 2. To analyse the situation with regard to sociological, economic, budgetary, legal, spatial, functional and governance criteria in order to be able to draw up organisational and regulatory perspectives for better management of the urban area
  • 3. Formulate recommendations to feed proposals for regulatory and legislative reform specifically oriented towards the urban area

During the different phases of the study, Unite Caribbean produced several deliverables for its client: an operational, legal and budgetary diagnostic report, a cartographic study, a recommendation report, and a final compiled report.

Contact

For more information, contact Damien Bauchau.

Shopping Basket

Étude sur la gestion de l’Espace Urbain Haïtien

Date

2019-2020

Localisation

Haïti

Secteurs

Gouvernance

Partenaires

Comité Interministériel d’Aménagement du Territoire (Haïti), FED

Unite Caribbean réalise avec ESA Consultance une mission d’étude opérationnelle sur la gestion de l’espace urbain en Haïti auprès de 6 grandes villes du pays (Port-au-Prince, Cap haïtien, Carrefour, Les Cayes, Camp Perrin, Millot).

Cette étude répond à trois objectifs :

  • 1. Documenter les pratiques et acteurs de la gestion de la ville au regard aussi bien des différents niveaux d’élus que des institutions de l’Etat central et également des attentes de certains acteurs privés autour des éléments de gestion de base de la ville ;
  • 2. Dégager des éléments précis dlégislation et de règlementations applicables aux différentes tailles de villes ;
  • 3. Structurer le débat autour des pratiques et des nouvelles normes à mettre en place, tant au moment du diagnostic qu’au moment de la formulation des propositions.

Le travail réalisé s’articule autour de 3 grands axes :

  • 1. Comprendre l’ensemble des facteurs et éléments opérationnels en matière de gestion urbaine, après des acteurs concernés sur le terrain, afin de disposer d’un diagnostic complet sur la situation actuelle en matière de gestion de l’espace urbain haïtien
  • 2. Analyser la situation au regard de critères sociologiques, économiques, budgétaires, juridiques, spatiaux, fonctionnels, de gouvernance afin de pouvoir tracer des perspectives organisationnelles et règlementaires pour une meilleure gestion de l’espace urbain
  • 3. Formuler des recommandations pour alimenter des propositions de réforme règlementaires et législatives spécifiquement orienté vers l’urbain

Durant les différentes phase d’étude, Unite Caribbean a produit plusieurs livrables à son client : un rapport de diagnostic opérationnel, juridique et budgétaire, une étude cartographique, un rapport de recommandation, un rapport final compilé.

Contact

Pour en savoir plus, contactez Damien Bauchau.

Panier